American Public Media

Saint Paul SundayProgram Listings

October 2003

audio Listen


Ardent Youth, Mystical Age
The four individually acclaimed artists of OPUS ONE first came together out of their admiration for one another's music making. This week on Saint Paul Sunday they join forces for one of the greatest chamber works ever written: Johannes Brahms' transcendent third piano quartet in c minor, a work begun by a heart-stricken twenty-two-year old and revised for publication decades later by a far more seasoned and serene spirit. The foursome opens it program with a charming Mozart allegro and a nimble homage to Mozart by Aaron Jay Kernis.

link Listen to another Saint Paul Sunday performance of OPUS ONE

Kernis: "Mozart en Route" or "A Little Traveling Music" (1991)
Mozart: Quartet in g minor for piano and strings, K.478
—I. Allegro
Brahms: Piano Quartet No. 3 in c for piano and strings, Op. 60
—I. Allegro non troppo
—III. Andante

Gil Shaham, violin; Akira Eguchi, piano

audio Listen

  Gil Shaham
  Gil Shaham

Fauré Foray
Although in life he encountered one "-ism" after another, composer Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924) sustained throughout a musical voice all his own, leaving us some of the rarest and most spellbinding works of the past two centuries. This week on Saint Paul Sunday, Mssr. Fauré finds his perfect interpreter in Gil Shaham, who, with the sensitive collaboration of pianist Akira Eguchi, brings us the composer's first violin sonata and several beautiful shorter works. Shaham calls his affinity for the composer "Fauré Fever." Under the spell of his masterful playing, you'll catch it too

feature Read "Fauré: inventing musical forms"

Gabriel Fauré: Berceuse, Op. 16
Gabriel Fauré: Violin Sonata No. 1 in A Major
Gabriel Fauré: Romance for Violin and Piano, Op. 28
Gabriel Fauré: Fileuse, from Pelleas et Mellisande, Op. 80
Gabriel Fauré: Morceau de lecture
Gabriel Fauré: Clair de Lune

For information about link Gil Shaham recordings visit Public Radio MusicSource.

The Takács String Quartet
audio Listen

  Takács Quartet
Takács Quartet

Nature and Nurture
One mark of a masterful ensemble is the power to animate the idiomatic vision behind each work it performs, even while leaving no doubt as to its own. This week, the Takács Quartet offers an absorbing take on three composers who bear remarkably different approaches to the form: music of Beethoven's bracing "Serioso" quartet, a "sad burlesque" from Béla Bartók's sixth quartet, and the radiant first movement of Maurice Ravel's Quartet in F Major. At every turn, the Takács' faithfulness to the works' individuality is underpinned by a voice, and a virtuosity, all its own.

feature Takács Quartet Web site

Ludwig van Beethoven: Quartet in f minor, Op. 95
—I. Allegro con brio
—II. Allegretto ma non troppo-attacca
—III. Allegro assai vivace ma serioso
Béla Bartók: String Quartet No. 6
—III. Mesto-Burletta: Moderato
Maurice Ravel: String Quartet in F Major
—I. Allegro Moderato–Très doux

For information about link Takács Quartet recordings visit Public Radio MusicSource.

Andrew Lawrence-King and the Harp Consort
audio Listen

  Spanish settlers bring the Mass to Native Mexicans in the 1600s
Spanish settlers bring the Mass to Native Mexicans in the 1600s

Missa Mexicana
The Hispanic Baroque knit together often-dizzying contrasts of culture and faith into works of great beauty and vitality. This week on Saint Paul Sunday, Andrew Lawrence-King and the Harp Consort give us a vivid musical taste of that world in "Missa Mexicana," a program that juxtaposes an exuberant 17th century Mass setting by the chapel master of Mexico's Puebla Cathedral--Spanish-born composer Juan Gutiérrez de Padilla--with the Latin-American and African folk dances that inspired it. Listen in for a lively fusion of the Old World and the New.

feature Program notes
feature Texts & translations
feature Make your own "Day of the Dead" pop-up display

Francisco de Escaladas: Villancico Cantan dos jilguerillos
Juan Gutiérrez de Padilla (1590 - 1664): Kirie (from Missa Ego flos campi)
Santiago de Murcia (1682-1735?): Cumbées
Juan Gutiérrez de Padilla (1590 - 1664): Negrilla A siolo flasiquiyo
Juan Gutiérrez de Padilla: Gloria (from Missa Ego flos campi)
Gaspar Fernández: Guineo: ¿Andres, do queda el Ganado?
Anonymous (17th century Peru): Marizápalos a lo humano: Marizápalos bajó una tarde
Juan García de Zéspedes (1619-1678): Guaracha Convidando está la noche


For information about link Andrew Lawrence-King and the link Harp Consort recordings visit Public Radio MusicSource.




Program Catalog

Audio from previous shows is archived in the program catalog. Go to the catalog to listen to previous shows.

Broadcast Stations

 American Public Media